The three B’s

TeamworkWhen I first started my online classes, I jumped for joy thinking no more dreadful group work, but then I came across this assignment in only the fourth week of class. I did not know what to think, when I first started this project. It did not seem to be a hard project, but I was completely confused how we would all communicate and get the work done with no way of communicating face to face. It definitely was not as bad as I thought it would be, and I ended up learning some new things! It came together through three “B’s”.

Bridget-I always grew up happy that my name started with a Bb because that meant I got in the front of the line to go to the restroom, and I always got to pick out the best toys. I did not know growing up that my name would lead to me the group leader. With my name being the first in the email, I had to facilitate the project. I did my best to keep an open line of communication among our group. Being the leader allowed me to create the Google Group. This was my first time to ever work with Google Groups, but I see how beneficial it could be to teachers. It makes sharing documents much easier, and it is a direct line of communication.

Basics-Even in our textbook, word processing, spreadsheet, and database programs, are the basic software tools. I have worked with them all for many years, but I had never used Google Drive prior to the project. The steps to creating the documents in Google Drive were simple knowing the basic steps. My group worked together to create some general and basic documents that can be used in the classroom.

Brains-Here’s the catch-you do not have to be a rocket scientist to properly use and manage a computer and its software. Our textbook clearly demonstrates the best ways to use the computer. To do anything in life, you have to start somewhere. It is disappointing to just now find out about Google Drive and Google Groups. As I begin my career as a teacher, I want students to understand the many opportunities they are given through technology. It is no longer a matter of if technology should be used in the classroom, but it is how. I see classes once a week in the computer lab to teach them the basics of typing, software, and other uses. Eventually, I hope computer labs become extinct because all teachers will know how to effectively incorporate technology into learning.

The following are links to the projects completed in the group assignment:

Group Listserv:2013-it-465-group-2@googlegroups.com

Group Discussion

Story

Spreadsheet

Power Point

Survey

5 thoughts on “The three B’s

  1. I also felt the same way about group projects as you do Bridget. I was not looking forward to this group project, but as we started I found out that it was not as bad as I thought it would be. You did a good job of communicating with all of us and staying on top of things. Thanks for being a good group leader. Hope to work with you again. Glad we both feel the same way about it being best to complete assignments early.

  2. I’m glad to hear you had a good experience with this group project. It sounds like you all worked well together, and you kept everyone in step. I tried to view the group work but was unable to from the link you provided. I hope to come back and view it later.

  3. I felt the same way whenever I seen we had a group project. I would have to say that our group did an awesome job of working together and getting everything done in a timely manner. I enjoyed working with you! You did a great job!

  4. I choose to do online classes so that i can work at my own pace and go based on my schedule. This is the first class online that i have ever had such a strict schedule and then a huge medical condition came out of no where and here i am trying to get everything done last minute. Group work to me is the worst. Glad to see that your group worked out though.

Leave a Reply

